the importance of smallness

bla_art2. . .

Lately feeling very small, I found a friend out of nowhere one saturday afternoon three weeks ago and she advised me to change just one thing about my life. I haven’t had any creative output in 6 months and I’ve arrived at every artist’s platitude: full time work kills creative output. Living outside of my own experiences, my world is shrinking and the outside world is expanding, depthless. I can’t comprehend anything big or significant at the moment. All I can manage, and, in fact, all my hands seem inclined to do, is make pinch pots from small scraps of earthenware. It feels like the most organic manifestation of feeling. Nuggets of a creative process. Everything a bit flawed, jarred, diminutive and awkward. A regression (or return?) to basic principles.

Shows, collaborations, projects on the back burner but coming together in dialogue.

. . .

 

 

nuggets

. . .

1606500_684895568230253_7857472150904957676_o

. . .

x G.

