BOVINAE

If you ever type “ceramics” and “cow” into google, be prepared for a deluge of tacky barn-yard souvenir kitsch. So really, don’t try it. However, having put forward my distaste for naff miniature collectible figurines of cows, they remain one of my favourite animals. I sort of had a pet cow for a time.. when my parents lived on a property in Barrington Tops. We never quite developed that pet-owner bond though – mainly because she was busy grazing and never wanted anything to do with me.

But I continue to have a great affinity for cows and bovine species generally, and this enthusiasm extends to their representations. Janetta Kerr-grant is a ceramics artist I have recently discovered. Michael Johnson’s small works are mixtures of enigmatic, sweet, and ghosty.

 

Janetta Kerr-Grant: Back Paddock; Woodcutters Lane. 2013

. . .

Michael Johnson, White Cow Reflected in a Pond. 1962

. . .

Michael Johnson, Cattle Reflected in a Pond, 1963

Michael Johnson, Cattle Reflected in a Pond, 1963

. . .

 

x GP

 

 

 

 

 

 

