When I grow up, I want to be Lucy Rie.

Attached to my university here in lil’ old norwich is the Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts, which has the most surprisingly amazing collection of works. It’s a relatively small collection by european gallery standards but it’s perfectly curated and has works from Edgar Degas to Francis Bacon and Modigliani. I submitted a big essay on 1920s jazz age literature today and needed a break but walking outside is getting progressively chillier so I decided to seek a little warmth and solace at the sainsbury centre. To my great astonishment, they have an entire cabinet of Lucy Rie ceramics. I only discovered Lucy Rie this year while on my UK travels but have quickly fallen into a deeply serious love affair. Her works are instantly recognisable for their smooth shapes, consideration of negative space, and beautifully precise glaze decoration. Just so you know, none of these photos do her any justice. She is extremely well represented in major galleries and international collections so I was reasonably astonished to see such a large body of her work on display here. Just the sunday afternoon pick-me-up I needed!

. . .

IMG_3789

. . .

IMG_3793

the Sainsbury Centre for Visual Art, UEA

. . .

IMG_3796

Cabinet of Lucy Rie work!

. . .

IMG_3797

. . .

IMG_3799

I watched a brief documentary on Lucy Rie at the V&A last month which showed Rie making a vase similar to this shape. She makes it in two pieces; the base vase and the wide opened lip is fixed on afterwards while the clay is still damp.

. . .

IMG_3802

. . .

IMG_3804

. . .

IMG_3805

(possibly my favourite piece in the collection)

. . .

IMG_3807

Rie uses sgraffito techniques of scratching through the glaze into the clay to achieve thin lines . This takes a very steady hand and precision.

. . .

IMG_3808

. . .

IMG_3814

. . .

IMG_3817

. . .

Bust of Lucy Rie

Bust of Lucy Rie, c.1953 by Hans Coper

. . .

Lucy Rie in her studio at Albion Mews

Lucy Rie in her studio at Albion Mews. What a cutie!

. . .

postcards

Postcards for my ever growing collection.

I shall be home in a very brief matter of days! Scary and exciting mixed with a little bit of sentimentality. I’m looking forward to hot lazy summer days and seeing all my precious friends.

x GP.

