Cameras and Ceramics…. Cameramics??

Making plaster moulds for slip casting has been my latest project.. above I made a three-part mould of an old camera.. once upon a time it was a rather expensive camera coveted by indie middle-upper class budding photographer hipsters worldwide. but now they have instagram. Anyway, seeing as the I effectively suck at using cameras and, for the record, do not own any sort of electronic device that could possibly hope to accommodate instagram apps.. I decided I could afford to sacrifice a perfectly functioning camera in the name of ceramics.

I’ve experimented with a sample of glazes and firing techniques from clear, white, royal blue, and matte. It has been remarkably fun. 

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

It has been an appallingly long time since my last post. Perhaps almost a month ago. As always, the chief excuse has been a preoccupation with other life factors taking precedence. But I do have some news..!

In less than 5 weeks from now I will be leaving Sydney for 6 or so months to study in England on exchange (yay!). But first stop, Paris in July and then since the semester starts in September, I  have been trying to organise plans for August.. SOO after some tentative research and re-budgeting on how many packets of mi-goreng I can afford to eat per day, I think I might be going to Ceramics Summer School. Yes, laugh. Lameness aside, it does sound super fun.  You board in this big guest house on their old english estate and every day is spent in the 24hr ceramics studio practising how to wheel throw and hand build pottery and glaze/fire/etc. It’ll be like the summer camp I never went on as a child because I hate camping, mosquitoes, and outdoor sports. Only downside is that I won’t really be able to keep any of the ceramics I make because there is no way I can bring 20kgs worth of ceramics back to Sydney with me. I will avidly endeavour to blog every detail about it however 🙂

x GP

