Ceramic Cures for Hangovers 101

Sometimes there are those days where you get to bed at 3am, and wake up at 11hours later at 2 in the afternoon. Sometimes this is preceded by a not so memorable night out with strange liquid consumption. So, you spend the whole next day in a sort of unproductive haze of severe discomfiture. Basically, what I am trying to communicate is that I am monumentally hungover. Yes, still hungover from something that happened some 20hours ago. No one could discredit me with striving to always set new standards for myself.

HOWEVER. Given said circumstances, I have discovered two things to do when all you want to do is nothing.

#1: While it does involve a reasonable level of concentration and focus, it felt so nice to spend time this afternoon just spinning clay on the wheel. One of the key steps when wheelthrowing is to centre and wedge the clay before you can start shaping it into forms. This involves raising and pushing down the clay while spinning and ensuring the volume of the clay is evenly centred in the middle of the wheel. If this isn’t done to full effect then you end up with a wonky edge (this happens to me all the time – it is so much more challenging than it looks) and air bubbles in the clay. Anyway, today I just practised on this. The clay I’m using at the moment is also incredibly creamy and slimy and cool to the touch which always makes it feel like some indulgent pleasure to play with. I recycled most of the clay but I did make a cylindrical vase. Not quite perfect but after I turn it and clean it up tomorrow it should come out quite nicely. I have an idea to make a series of these so we’ll see 🙂

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

#2. Oh, the second thing? Well, that would be to blog about it 😉

 

x GP.

