Rainbow Fish Cup

For those of you who are not familiar with the above image (and thus were deprived of a fulfilled childhood experience), The Rainbow Fish was one of my favourite picture books when I was 6 years old. I’d like to say this was because the story was heart warming with strong moral undertones.. but I think it was more attributed to the intensely shiny fish scales which was what really won me over. Sixteen years later, not too much has changed.. I am still inescapably attracted to shiny things and resignedly unable to conform or ‘be normal’.

It has been a painfully long time since my last post largely because uni has been consuming my life like a hungry vacuum. Also, as this is my last semester in Sydney before I go away, I really do want to invest a bit more time to actually enjoy uni because heaven forbid I ever even contemplate post grad study. I haven’t entirely alienated myself from ceramics however, in fact I have been taking a course on plaster casting. This essentially involves making a mould from plaster. After shaping the mould, liquid clay slip is poured into the mould to create the intended object. It’s a different form of ceramics whereby you can replicate a single form infinitely. Perhaps a slightly more mechanical take on the handmade aesthetic but incredibly useful for ‘mass’ production and achieving uniformity across multiple objects.

But I digress! I perhaps mentioned some weeks ago that I had used the last of my terracotta clay to make a set of 10 baby cups. Here is one which I finally decorated last week with aforementioned Rainbow Fish in mind. I doubt I will decorate them all in this design for two reasons: 1) It took a really freaking long time to do; 2) Rainbow Fish scales are likely to appear more striking when starkly individual.

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

 . . .

It looks a little dodgy at present, but once fired and glazed, will look really shiny. I’ve used an alternation of lavender and blue for the scales with a couple scales painted bright orange here and there which will really pop out. I’m also planning a trip to the kilns next week and a market stall maybe late april/early may.

x GP

