Cactus Revival

. . .

This weekend I went for a quick trip to my parents’ farm near Gloucester, NSW (until recently, home to fugitive Malcolm Naden). It’s about a 4.5hr drive north of Sydney and a little pocket of respite from the outside world. I mean it when I say this because there is no internet or phone reception for 60kms from the house. One of my small achievements on this trip was to plant my pet cactus. Since adopting it from the markets earlier this month, it has become progressively  sadder looking and every measure I have taken thus far only seems to aggravate it’s depressive state. So, at the suggestion of my mother, I decided to release it into the wild.

 . . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

I have just realised that this post thus far has had as little to do with anything let alone ceramics and it’s not as if there aren’t already a million blogs by people dedicated to directionless life rantings. So here’s just a few snaps of what’s been happening in my makeshift ceramics studio. It is mostly still in keeping with my other pomegranate collection but for some of these I have made an executive decision to leave parts raw/unpainted. The rest of the surface background has been painted, leaving the natural pigment of the clay to be appreciated in its own right.

. . .

. . .

. . .

x GP

