Poppies, Hermes, and LAB oh my!

Georgia O’Keeffe, Oriental Poppies 1928

Just a little post on pulling ideas together. Above is a print of Georgia O’Keeffe’s poppies. I studied O’Keeffe in first year art history and there’s really not much to say about it except that I love her. She can transform something very average and everyday into the most powerful and striking and weird representation. When I’m rich I aspire to fill my big cold empty lonely house with huge canvases by her.. (and Rothko.. who I seriously worship but will save for another post)

I have been thinking about changing my layout header to more current work. something which feels a little fresher – we’ll see how proactive I am..  also have set up a very micro scale etsy shop! It’s all stuff from the latest collection which did not get snapped up at the markets. I’m just fine tweaking a few last details before it will actually go live.

I have been busy just decorating recently but I’d really like to get back into just working at the wheel soon.  I made 10 little terracotta cups on Friday morning before I went to uni! It’s funny, if I haven’t thrown for a while, I genuinely start to itch for it – haha that sounded much weirder than it was supposed to.. Below: Hermes. enough said. I’d love to transfer a similar kind of imagery onto my pots. Sweet nightingales, fragrant jasmine flowers at dusk, port wine magnolias, warm evening walks, dragonflies dancing over a lagoon, raspberry bushes, prickly grass, etc etc all that romanticism (uncapitalised)

. . .

. . .

Amongst my musings, I also wanted to take this opportunity to share the latest creations from LAB Homme, a labour of love by the ridiculously talented Chris Cheng. I think it’s important to take inspiration from diverse avenues of life. The more often I look at the work of (professional) ceramicists who I particularly admire, I get to wishing I could replicate their styles or designs. This usually ends up confusing my own aesthetic so I think it’s great to be able to immerse yourself in something that’s perhaps not necessarily directly related to one’s own craft, for example a men’s fashion label, and feel inspired and empowered by classic clean lines and strong design principles. Below: I love the way Chris incorporates colour in his collections. Amongst shades of grey, black, and white, he makes colour a statement of energy and vibrancy.

. . .

. . .

. . .

x GP

