Pomegranate Pots

The busyness of uni has started up again. In the space of two short weeks I have gone from mind-numbing boredom to overwhelming stress levels of trying to do everything and subsequently doing nothing in particular. A couple of misinformed and awkward subject choices this semester have also not helped. That said, I have found a glorious means of procrastination through pottery.

I have started a whole little collection based on a single pomegranate. To reiterate my aesthetic, I love all things eye-catchingly pretty, floral, fruity, and bright. This essentially sums it all up. Gritty details: Made from terracotta earthenware clay and wheel thrown. The process is ridiculously time consuming.. the decorative process alone for one pot took me almost an hour.. after that I started to get a little faster at it but it still takes at least half and hour. After throwing the pot, turning it, and smoothing out the surfaces it’s ready for the second stage. First I scratch out the image/design with a needle, then paint the background, before painting over the image. More intricate detailing for the leaves/stems/pomegranate interior is added using a ‘sgraffito’ technique – which is basically a method of scratching off the paint with a needle to reveal the raw surface beneath. (I can’t believe I just described a 3 hour process in 3 sentences.. sooo MUCH easier said than done)

. . .

. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .


. . .

. . .

It’s semi tedious to post all the photos here, so I’ve also loaded an extended album on my Facebook Page!

A note: once fired, these colours should come out incredibly bright and vibrant and darker. Especially the ‘red’ pomegranates – which looks pink in the photos but will in fact turn a bright firecracker red. I’ve used DECCO underglazes like this previously but since I bought these paints last month I’ve only just begun to exercise a diversified colour scheme. (I haven’t been able to source it yet, but I also want to get my hands on a Royal Blue underglaze plaint.. it looks purple when applied fresh but after firing comes out into this stunningly deep dark blue.)

More posts on pomegranates to come! I’ve made a couple short vases and plates which will be decorated in keeping with my theme – but all individual and all unique of course!

x GP

