Finished Pots

On Monday I went to pick up my finished ceramics from the kilns. Hurrah for ceramic fruition. It feels so satisfying to reach the stage of the final product. However, I am a little disappointed in some of them where I used green crackle glaze. I don’t think it was fired at a high enough temperature because it didn’t quite get to crackling. It was fired at 1100*C but I probably should have had it taken up to at least 1300*C. Well, I guess that’s all part of the experimentation process and I’ll know better next time.

I guess it’s also nice to post photos and show people how everything has turned out. Basically it looks the same as it did post-bisque fire… except shiny.

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

I am working on something much more exciting and visually engaging at the moment in terracotta clay.  Posts and photos are yet to come. I want to kind of post methodically/progressively.. to feel like this first “collection” reaches a proper finish and then it can be catalogued and shelved (sort of literally).

Ohh and I’ll be at Kirribili Markets this Sunday between 8am – 4pm. It’s at Bradfield Park on the artificial green lawn near Milsons Point Train Station. Fingers crossed for beautiful weather. Would be amazing to see you all there!

PS. I always forget to plug this, seeing as the large proportion of my readership are brought here via my facebook, but you can also see more photos on my Facebook Page. If you haven’t already, I would also feel super chuffed if you ‘liked’ my page 🙂

x GP

