Fairy Botanica

I bought a whole lot of new underglazes last week in lots of super fresh colours (yay!) Also I made a bowl with some remaining white earthenware clay I had.. instead of smoothing out the edge evenly I decided to emphasise the crookedness (going from one extreme to the other?)

Below I’ve used DECCO slip colours in coppery greenmanganese alumina pink, and matte blue. They’re basically the same stuff that the paints are made from except they come in a powder (?); a bit like a very finely crushed pigment which can then be diluted with water to achieve varying degrees of consistency and application effects.

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

I’m not sure if I will extend this design to the point of making a collection. It’s a little overly pretty and dainty. I think I’ll tire of it quickly although no doubt it has potential to look really good if I made a whole set of matching fluidly wavy-edged cups, saucers, bowls, dishes &c. It reminds me a bit of a fairy garden.. I wanted to experiment with a theme that is inspired by botanical imagery but this might be overkill with the pink?

x GP

