Final stages, Further directions & Fair inspirations

. . .

. . .

. . .

This is probably my favourite part of the whole pottery process. The final glazing. It is so relaxing in the sense that you don’t have to think about the design or anything any longer. You just whack on this thick clearish paint all over the pots and watch it settle and turn everything white. I’ve also used the DECCO crackle glaze on some of them – I’ve never used crackle glaze before so it’ll be interesting just to see how it works. It’s back to the kilns tomorrow again and then with a little bit of luck everything will come back in one piece and look semi fabulous?

 . . .


. . .

Today i went to the Life In Style homewares/gift trade fair to support a very lovely friend of my mother’s, Lauri, who is the talented sole driving force behind Ourlieu. She very nicely got us exhibitor passes into the trade fair so we could shop around for beautiful stuff at manufacturing prices ha! I didn’t actually buy anything because it seems futile to hoard homewares given my future plans for this year (ssoooo many gorgeous textiles + fabrics + cushions!!). However, it was great to have an exposure to all these designers and artists who had turned their ideas into functional marketable products. Angus & Celeste was definitely a highlight, there were also a couple other stalls selling ceramic wares which were of varying degrees of interest however I would never see myself trying to pursue a similar path. (counter productive to my sense of exploring the whole “handmade” value-aesthetic; spite for mass production and consumerist demands etc etc blah blaah).

What I did glean from the trade fair was a lot of inspiration for the kinds of shapes, designs, colours, and forms. I wasn’t able to take any photographs but I made lots of jottings in my diary which I can work from later.

. . .

. . .

x GP

