Back from the Bisque

Just a little update: I picked my pieces up from the kilns today. All is good.. well, except for one plate which cracked but I wasn’t in the least surprised because I had been hopelessly trying to fix it back into one piece even before I took it to get bisqued. Shame, however, as it was one of my favourite designs.

. . .

Massive chipped edge aside, I think I might as well glaze the whole thing and finish it off so I can use it at home for miscellaneous purposes. In addition, I think I have outgrown the tissue paper designs which means I will be unlikely to repeat the design on something else. The costs are also extortionate. not to mention how much it cost for the bisque firing today.. I’m beginning to think this is an even more expensive hobby than my penchant for shopping and shoes.

While at the pottery supplies place, I bought a couple of oxide washes and dyes – they involve a different kind of application but used just the same as a colour underglaze. exciting….

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

I feel a little uninspired by all of these. I did for a minute consider trying to make them a little crazier by embellishing the decorations but to be honest I think these are beyond redemption. There is something nice in their simplicity but again I think the design looks too controlled and too “pretty”. I think I must be trying too hard to create something covet-able and in doing so, completely missing the mark.

I am sort of in the process of starting a different “project” although I’m not really sure of the direction as of yet. I’m still very much in love with everything I’m doing and getting to the finished product is incredibly satisfying however I either need to redefine my aesthetic.. or simply stop thinking about it so much.

PS. I have mentioned this a hundred times before, but I will be selling my ceramics at Kirribilli Markets on SUNDAY MARCH 11TH in conjunction with a couple of friends on the Bradfield Park lawns. Lots of second hand + vintage + designs clothes, shoes, bags, accessories as well.

It would be lovely to see anyone and everyone – will be there between the hours of 8am – 4pm. Come at your leisure unless you are super keen to nab an early morning bargain. I don’t seriously expect the ceramics to sell but it’ll be fun to have them on display so you can see the tangible product.

x GP

