Terracotta Trials

Took all my stuff to get bisque fired last Friday. Also picked up some fresh supplies – more underglaze paints, new tools, wire, sponges, etc etc. yay! I must admit however, that despite my intention to sell my wares at the markets next month, this is not exactly a profitable enterprise (sunk costs, variable inputs – clay, glazes, firing, etc)! Business degree aside, it really is just a cure for boredom and highlights my apparently immense solitariness ha ha..

AANYWAY. so I mentioned some time ago that I had a massive bag of terracotta clay. The difference between this and what I was using before isn’t very much.. they’re both earthenware except terracotta is, well, terracotta-coloured. Dug out from a different kind of earth basically. I started a few things over the weekend. I was actually surprised by how smooth and soft the clay was, especially as initially I wasn’t such a fan of the reddish colour – it also affects the schematic effect of the underglazes – but it’s really grown on me and I was surprised how, as the clay has dried, it’s become lighter. Not certain what it will look like post-firing but below are some photos of what I’ve made. I’m starting on a new design/project. These are all MUCH larger and I guess the forms resemble ‘pots’ more accurately..?

You may also notice the super jagged edges on three of them especially.. this was accidental – probably spinning the wheel too fast near the end and brought the walls up too fast + not enough water. I was going to smooth it out to an even edge when I get around to turning them. But I kind of like it.. even though it would most likely fail miserably in the design functionality stakes.

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

 . . .

I just looked over these photos again and you can hardly tell this is terracotta! How anticlimactic! Must be the lighting.. and these were taken a couple days later so they are dried now and not as fresh off the wheel when they were darker. Further progress updates to come!

x GP

