Pandas, Patterns, and things which make me Pretty Weird

source: UK Telegraph

This afternoon I took to trying to finish off decorating my last couple of pieces but I suffered something vaguely equivalent to writer’s block. To be frank, I’m sick of my designs. I wanted to complete a collection in this theme of perpendicular+parallel lines confined to limited palette.. which is what I’ve been doing but I looked at all my pieces today in preparation to take it to get bisque fired later this week and I feel utterly underwhelmed. I’m bored of the aesthetic and idea behind it. And while I want to move onto something new, I hate the feeling of abandoning something when it’s already so close to being finished.

I’m undecided with what to do about this.  I guess partly because I have been strict thus far in my decorations, I’ve become impatient to embark on newer, fresher ideas and projects.. AANYWAY, in the mean time I have been intending to do a post for some time now on the everyday things that ‘inspire’ me. 

. . .

If you weren’t already aware, I am obsessed with overwhelmingly bright colours, strong lines, clashing patterns, incongruous shapes, weird designs.. it all floats my boat. I also have a penchant for collecting cushions.. especially ones in the shape of fruit. You might also be able to draw some vague similarities from this cushion and some of my previous designs:

. . .

 

This is literally a piece of wrapping paper that came from a birthday gift earlier this year. The more I look at it the more I love it and want to transfer the design into something on a bowl. Just goes to show you can be inspired by anything (no sarcasm implied).

. . .

. . .

. . .

Since my panda potting days, I have developed an extra eye looking out for interesting ceramics and pottery wherever I go (shop windows, restaurants, peoples’ kitchen cupboards…) Several Sundays ago, I was at The Rocks markets with my mama and we were instantly blown away by this oversized antique teapot. Appealing to my secret indulgence for megalomania, this hulking thing measures over 40cm from spout to end (length) and 35cm tall (not including handle height). Naturally, we bought it because it was a total bargain. I’m thinking of making a collection of cups to match it. I also need to stress that the photos don’t come close to doing justice!

. . .

 

Flowers. Peonies, in particular. I love the variations in colour and the way they open up to become so fully in bloom. I took this photo late last year – the flowers are a bit scraggy because I plucked (ie. stole) them from a wedding arrangement post-reception. They lasted over a week and their heady fragrance permeated my whole room with indescribable lushness. It reminds me that I am yet to extend my pots into vases. (another project!)

. . .

I was at sushi train a couple weeks ago and they served me green tea in this super adorable cup, made in the traditional Japanese style of Wabi Sabi. You can’t really see it but there are imprints  into the walls of the cup which just perfectly accommodates the shape of your hand to hold it. I can’t begin to describe how satisfying it felt just to ‘cup’ it between my palms.

. . .

aand here is another, photographed by my friend Lilian (I hope she reads this and feels particularly chuffed that I’ve given her due photo credits)

x GP

