Put a Lid on It!

Here is a project from back in December. I only recently have learnt how to throw lids on the wheel and it is SUPER easy and quick and you work with a reasonably small size of clay. It’s also the forerunner to making egg cups.

If there’s something my mum and I both indisputably share a love for, it’s glass jars. It’s like classier kitchen tupperware that’s not really more versatile.. nor easier to clean.. nor stack compared to plastic. But it’s prettier so whatever. After moving up to the farm, crate-fulls of old glass jars were unearthed from the garage but unfortunately a lot of the wooden lids had cracked and worn away. In an attempt to salvage them I have undertaken a project to create new lids for them. These are some test pieces.

. . .

IMG_4034

. . .

IMG_4021

. . .

IMG_4036

. . .

IMG_4018

. . .

Making smaller lids can also be fun ways to dress up old jam jars into sweet little jewellery containers.

. . .

IMG_4025

. . .

IMG_4027

. . .

IMG_4028

. . .

All of these are made from stoneware and are thus a little heavier than my usual earthenware works. This makes them sit stout and heavy on the jars. This has advantages however I think next time I probably would take a bit of the clay from out of the bottom to make it lighter and instead create a deeper cylinder to sit in the neck of the jar. When throwing the lids on the wheel it’s crucial to accommodate for shrinkage in the clay (there are handy measuring tools for this!)

. . .

IMG_4040

. . .

In the meantime, I have been preoccupying myself with a side project: BEIJING DERELICT. which is a micro art project consisting of a photo a day of Beijing. It’s basically poor quality snapshots of all the mundane dirty crap that litters the streets and tropes of industrialisation. But amidst the hazy smog, construction sites and kitschy trash is something incredibly visually seductive and I can’t help but drink it all up. So it has manifested into another blog for the time that I am here.

x GP