Rusting Transfers

I am leaving in less than 2 weeks! However being amidst exams I haven’t had the opportunity to allow the reality of it fully hit me. I expect very soon though it will smack me right across the head and I will be reduced to tears at the airport. Anyway, in the spirit of ending/tying up loose ends in Sydney, the other night I managed to finish glazing and decorating all the remaining pieces I have had sitting in a box collecting dust for the past 2 months. I also had a bit of tissue transfer paper which I used on these two pieces: a plate and a cylindrical vessel (it might be a tall cup or a short vase.. who’s to say really).

Because the design of the paper had so much coloured space, it’s often very difficult to get the whole print to transfer fully and perfectly. Also this paper is kind of old and a bit dried, making it ever slightly more challenging. However I kind of like the rustic effect where it hasn’t fully printed onto the clay. I also brushed on underglaze paint to some areas to give it a layered appearance of colour. I assure you it will also look at least 6 times prettier once it’s been through glazing and final firing ;)

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

x GP

